Your Charming Canadian Housewife gets schooled.

9 Sep

Last week left me feeling like a drunk person getting off the Tilt-A-Whirl. The boys had their first full day of school on Wednesday. I wasn’t too worried about my oldest. It was the youngest. After I left him in his class all I could think was, “Please be good!” My worries were calmed when the Kindergarten teacher came up to me in the hallway as I was helping the older boy settle into his locker. She said he was doing great so far. What a relief. That calmed me. Only somewhat because I was heading to my own first class that morning. Yes, this little housewife has decided to go back to school which I will blog about another time.

Everything seemed to be going along fairly well that morning. Aside that I was running behind picking the kids up for lunch. But they are used to that. I got to the school and the Kindergarten teacher asked to talk to me about my youngest. She was holding a paper. I could see the writing through the back of the page. My heart sank and my stomach would have churned but I was already feeling a bit anxious about the day. Oh no!

I vaguely remember the conversation that followed.

Teacher: Your son drew a picture and felt the need to show me. (Shows me the picture)

Me:  . . . . .I’m so sorry.

Teacher:  At least your son is great at spelling phonetically. (Laughs)

Me: I think I may have apologized again.

Teacher: That’s ok. It’s not the first time that’s happened.

Thank goodness she has a great sense of humour about kids and those things. One of those things being the ‘F’ word written on his colouring sheet. I gathered up my kids to leave and may have apologized yet again.

On the way to the vehicle I asked my son why he wrote a swear. His response, “My friend told me to.”

Me: I understand but that’s not the point. Why did you write it?

Him: Because I’m a rock star.

I tried not to lose it and let him see I was cracking up.

Thankfully the last part of the week went more smoothly. I even got an email from his teacher that Friday was much better. The rest of the year can only get better from here, right?

2 Responses to “Your Charming Canadian Housewife gets schooled.”

  1. Liz September 10, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    Haha! Funny…and yes, it can only get better. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 752 other followers

