Hand washing dishes isn’t good for you.

1 Apr

I remember when I was little my mother would remind me to stand up straight and have good posture because, “you don’t want to get a hunched back”. Whenever I saw an old lady with a lump on her back or hunched over, I would remember what my mother had said.  Later in life I was told those old ladies had hunched backs because of osteoporosis. It may be true but I really think it’s from all the time they had spent bent over the kitchen sink three times a day doing dishes. And after doing two weeks of having to hand wash due to an out of commission dishwasher I am convinced my theory is correct.

Who knew being a Charming Housewife could be so exhausting?

Finally we were able to pick up our new dishwasher this week. Our glorious beautiful shiny new dishwasher! I couldn’t be more excited! About a dishwasher. This morning our new dishwasher was installed and is ready to use. Guess who is going to dirty a whole lot of dishes so it can be “broken in”?  Maybe I will have to open a bottle of wine to celebrate!

PS. The guy who installed it tried to be funny and April Fool me into thinking the dishwasher wouldn’t work. Not funny dude! Don’t to mess with a housewife who has had to hand wash dishes for two weeks straight.

8 Responses to “Hand washing dishes isn’t good for you.”

  1. Marla April 1, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    That’s when you break the empty bottle of wine over his head.

  2. Jessica April 5, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    I would be celebrating a new dishwasher after just one day of having to handwash dishes. That install man should know better than to tease a mom about new dishwasher not working. Not funny at all.

    • Your Charming Canadian Housewife April 5, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      Exactly! Next time I won’t wait so long to get a dishwasher or make my husband do dishes. Which makes me think I should start training my boys to wash dishes. ;)

  3. I'm So Fancy April 6, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    That’s a horrifying tale! Oh my. I feel like buying a backup dishwasher just to have out in the garage…crikey. Like an episode of Survivor that is!

    • Your Charming Canadian Housewife April 6, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      Very horrifying! It was exactly like Survivor! In order to cope I had to up my chocolate intake. I should treat my self to a massage for all the hard work I had to endure!

      • I'm So Fancy April 6, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

        oh yes, you should actually have a massage while wrapped in chocolate. It sounds as horrid as something like camping!

      • Your Charming Canadian Housewife April 6, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

        I actually don’t mind camping. As long as I have the amenities ie: shower, flushing toilets, etc… Hmmm…chocolate massage. Sounds sticky and delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 751 other followers

